Movie Review: Dark Knight Rises

This post was written by my man Anthony and you can follow him on twitter at Antony_SoulKool.

**********************************************************************************************************************

The Dark Knight

I have been anticipating this movie since I finished watching the Dark Knight and I knew there was going to be a potential sequel. I am a super Christopher Nolan fan. I love everything he has done from Memento to Inception. So when I was aware that the Dark Knight rises was on its way to the cinema I didn’t hesitate to book my ticket waaay in advance. I had super high expectations for this movie it was probably my most anticipated movie for a long time because I have been waiting far too long for a blockbuster movie on the same par as the initial Dark Knight, Lord of the Rings and Fight Club (some of my favourite movies) we have been lacking a major blockbuster. Some may argue that Avengers Assemble is up there but in my opinion it isn’t simply because its pure action and no story line. Okay, now to the movie when it was announced that the villain for the Dark Knight was going to be Bane I was elated. Because in the comics made by DC Bane was one of Batmans worthy opponents. He is known as “the man who broke the bat” the title speaks for it self. I was equally excited when I knew it was going to be played by Tom Hardy. Who is Tom Hardy? Some of you may ask. Well his most notable performances are as Eames in Inception or Tommy Conlon in “Warrior” By watching this it will give you a good idea of his acting abilities. Why was I excited by the announcement of the villain? Because, in all Christopher Nolan movies the main focus has always been the villain from Ra Al Ghul, The Scarecrow, Twoface, The Joker and finally Bane they have been the main headliners in the Batman Trilogy by Nolan. We also can never forget The Jokers memorable performance (RIP Heath Ledger)

Tom Hardy was excellent as Bane his performance was gripping regardless of the fact that his face was covered the whole time by a mask. He managed to engage the audience through his dialogue his eyes and body language. He is seen regularly making speeches. I believe they tried to portray him as a mad marxist dictator that was bent on revolution.

The batman we see in the Dark Knight Rises is a different type of Batman as well as a different type of Bruce Wayne he is much more vulnerable as he is has been out of action for 8 years he is even outcrafted by Selina Kyle/Catwoman (Anne Hathaway) in the movie the message they are trying to portray is that this is not the same batman Alfie (Michael Caine) continuously warns Batman during the movie that he is not the old person he once was.  I felt sorry for him as I continued watching the movie for some reason. Maybe that was the aim of the writers.

Highlights of the movie for me was

  • The introduction of Bane; he is completely the opposite of the trilogies previous villain The Joker he is much more physical and direct compared to the joker literally being a psychopath who wanted to see the world burn.
  • The fight scene with Batman & Bane; no music absolute silence and the sound of fists.
  • Alfies speech; when he explains to Bruce Wayne (Christian Bale) that he is leaving it reminds you how massive an actor Michael Caine is and his input in the movie
  • The twist; I wont go in to this just for the people who have not watched it
  • The role of Blake; (Joseph Gordon-Levitt) does a great job as Blake and its obvious what they were trying to do with him question is there some form of spin off starring him as Robin?
  • Catwoman (Anne Hathaway) I see her in a completely different light now used to seeing her in romcoms but she took this role with attitude and sexiness
  • The scene in the football stadium when the National Anthem is being sung and Bane makes his way to the stadium. I absolutely love this scene

All in all the movie meets all expectations the movie public has been desperate for a movie like the Dark Knight Rises and here we have it we are going to be hungry for another amazing movie for the next 3 years now. However, it doesn’t beat the initial Dark Knight for me as I believe that movie had more direction and The Jokers performance is the best I have seen in a Superhero Movie til date followed by Michael Fassbenders Magneto in Xmen Origins: First Class WATCH IT!

So the Dark Knight Rises gets a 8.5 from me. If it wasn’t for the initial Dark Knight I would have given it a 9. You will soon learn I am a very shrewd marker too. 😀  That’s all from me *salutes*

**********************************************************************************************************************

Favourite Quotes

Bruce Wayne: Why didn’t you just… kill me?
Bane: You don’t fear death… You welcome it. Your punishment must be more severe.
Bruce Wayne: Torture?
Bane: Yes. But not of your body… Of your soul.
Bruce Wayne: Where am I?
Bane: Home, where I learned the truth about despair, as will you. There’s a reason why this prison is the worst hell on earth… Hope. Every man who has ventured here over the centuries has looked up to the light and imagined climbing to freedom. So easy… So simple… Many have died trying. I learned here that there can be no true despair without hope. So, as I terrorize Gotham, I will feed its people hope to poison their souls. I will let them believe they can survive so that you can watch them clamoring over each other to “stay in the sun.” You can watch me torture an entire city and when you have truly understood the depth of your failure, we will fulfill Ra’s al Ghul’s destiny… We will destroy Gotham and then, when it is done and Gotham is ashes, then you have my permission to die.

Blind Prisoner: You do not fear death. You think this makes you strong. It makes you weak.
Bruce Wayne: Why?
Blind Prisoner: How can you move faster than possible, fight longer than possible without the most powerful impulse of the spirit: the fear of death.
Bruce Wayne: I do fear death. I fear dying in here, while my city burns, and there’s no one there to save it.
Blind Prisoner: Then make the climb.
Bruce Wayne: How?
Blind Prisoner: As the child did. Without the rope. Then fear will find you again.

Bruce Wayne: That’s a brazen costume for a cat burglar.
Selina Kyle: Yeah? Who are you pretending to be?
Bruce Wayne: Bruce Wayne, eccentric billionaire.

Batman: A hero can be anyone. Even a man doing something as simple and reassuring as putting a coat around a little boy’s shoulders to let him know that the world hadn’t ended. 

Bane: [holds up a picture of Harvey Dent] I present to you as the shining example of justice.
John Blake: [to Gordon, at Blake’s apartment] We’re just going to keep moving you until we can get you in front of a camera.
Bane: You have been supplied with a false idol to stop you from tearing down this corrupt city. Let me tell you the truth about Harvey Dent from the words of Gotham’s police commissioner, James Gordon. ‘The Batman didn’t murder Harvey Dent, he saved my boy then took the blame for Harvey’s appalling crime so that I could, to my shame, build a lie around this fallen idol. I praised the mad man who tried to murder my own child but I can no longer live with my lie. It is time to trust the people of Gotham with the truth and it is time for me to resign. And do you accept this man’s resignation? Do you accept the resignation of all these liars? Of all the corrupt?
John Blake: Those men locked up for eight years in Blackgate, and denied parole under the Dent Act, based on a lie?
Jim Gordon: Gotham needed a hero…
John Blake: It needs it now more than ever. You betrayed everything you stood for.

Bane: Theatricality and deception are powerful agents to the uninitiated… but we are initiated, aren’t we Bruce? Members of the League of Shadows!
[Lifts Batman by the neck]
Bane: And you betrayed us!
Bruce Wayne: You were excommunicated… by a gang of psychopaths.
Bane: [viciously beats Batman and throws him to the ground] I am the League of Shadows and I am here to fulfill Ra’s al Ghul’s destiny! You fight like a younger man, with nothing held back. Admirable but mistaken.
Bane: [Batman uses an EMP device to cut the lights] Oh, you think darkness is your ally. You merely adopted the dark; I was born in it. Molded by it. I didn’t see the light until I was already a man, by then it was nothing to me but BLINDING!
[grabs Batman from the shadows and continues to maliciously beat him]
Bane: The shadows betray you, they belong to me.
[repeatedly punches Batman in the face, breaking his cowl]
Bane: I will show you where I have made my home while preparing to bring justice. Then I will break you.
Bane: [Hits detonator, blowing a hole into the bottom of Wayne Enterprise] Your precious armory, gratefully accepted! We will need it. Ah yes, I was wondering what would break first
[lifts Batman]
Bane: your spirit? Or your body?
[slams him on his knee]

Jim Gordon: There should be a jury!
Dr. Jonathan Crane: This is not a trial. This is merely a sentencing. How do you wish to have your sentence carried out? Death, or exile?
Jim Gordon: If you think we’re going to walk out on that ice willingly, you got another thing coming!
Dr. Jonathan Crane: So, death then?
Jim Gordon: It looks that way.
Dr. Jonathan Crane: Death… by exile!

Selina Kyle: There’s a storm coming, Mr. Wayne. You and your friends better batten down the hatches, because when it hits, you’re all gonna wonder how you ever thought you could live so large and leave so little for the rest of us.
Bruce Wayne: You sound like you’re looking forward to it.
Selina Kyle: I’m adaptable.

That’s all for now folks.

You can follow Dmoviereview on Twitter @dmoviereview. I’ll follow back

Feel free to visit Dmoviereview’s Facebook Page and click on the like button.

You can also join Dmoviereview’s Mailing List to get notifications of new posts by email by clicking on the Follow button.

Without Wax

V.

 

2 thoughts on “Movie Review: Dark Knight Rises

Leave a Reply

