Movie Review: Taken 2

“I don’t know who you are. I don’t know what you want. If you are looking for ransom, I can tell you I don’t have money. But what I do have are a very particular set of skills; skills I have acquired over a very long career. Skills that make me a nightmare for people like you. If you let my daughter go now, that’ll be the end of it. I will not look for you, I will not pursue you. But if you don’t, I will look for you, I will find you, and I will kill you.”… Bryan Mills (Taken, 2008)

image

This were the lines that was seen as 1 of the great movie quotes in relation with Father’s day. For those who saw Taken, it remains till this day a great movie & one i love so much so when i heard & saw the trailer for a 2nd installment, i went all dancing with my own lines… “I must watch this movie.”

Taken 2 is directed by Olivier Megaton and written by Luc Besson & Robert Mark Kamen and features most of the original cast in Taken with Liam Neeson as Bryan Mills, Maggie Grace as Kim, Famke Janssen as Lenore, Leland Orser as Sam, Jon Gries as Casey, D.B. Sweeney as Bernie, Luke Grimes as Jamie, and Rade Serbedzija as Murad Krasniqi.

Taken 2 picks up from where the first installment stopped. Bryan still dotes on his daughter Kim, though with everything that happened in Taken, he nows keeps her on a short leash though she does not know. He heads to Istanbul for a job when after completing the job, Lenore & Kim surprise him by visting him. While having fun with Lenore, he notices they are being followed. After confirming his suspicions & a brief brawl with the followers, he and Lenore are kidnapped but not before he warns Kim who is in the hotel. Bryan finds out his kidnappers are led by the father of Marko, one of the kidnappers in Taken who kidnapped his daughter who he killed wants revenge for the death of his son and all the men he killed.

Taken 2 is coming on the back of a successful prequel so naturally people would expect more and as a critic i must assure you it did not disappoint. Though it did not have the charisma that Taken oozed & there was quite a delay before the action kicked in, it made up for it with the writers showing us how good Bryan Mills is even though he’s retired, something that was not completely explored in the prequel, then a crazy scene where Bryan & Kim did Grand Theft Auto with Kim on the wheels… Damn that girl can drive… 😀 . Neeson gives a wonderful performance which would continue to make me love him, same can be said of Maggie Grace.

Rating: 7/10

Cinema Worthiness: A must see…

Favourite Quotes

Lenore: You found her in a city of 12 million people in 72 hours

Bryan: Come on, Kim, move!
Kim: Where are we going?
Bryan: We have to go to the embassy.
Kim: I’m not sure I can.
Bryan: Do you know how to shoot?
Kim: No
Bryan: Then drive.

Bryan Mills : Listen to me carefully, Kim. Your mother; is going to be taken. And people are gonna come for you too.
Kim : What are you gonna do?
Bryan Mills : What I do best.

Bryan Mills : If I kill you, your other sons will come and seek revenge?
Murad : They will…
Bryan Mills : And I will kill them too.

Kim: Dad, surprise!
Bryan: Baby! Hey, honey
Lenore: Hello Brian
Bryan: I was just leaving you a message.
Kim: We wanted to surprise you.
Bryan: Well, you succeeded

Bryan Mills: When a dog has a bone the last thing you want to do is take it from him.

That’s a wrap folks…

You can follow Dmoviereview on Twitter. We’ll follow back

You can like our Dmoviereview page on Facebook.

You can also click the follow button to receive email notifications of new posts.

Without Wax,

V.

6 thoughts on “Movie Review: Taken 2

  1. Shiza! This could’ve been better if time had been taken to re-read it and edit the errors.
    Pls work on ur tenses, spellings and other minor errors to make ur work readable.
    It wasn’t bad sha *walking away*

  2. you need to have seen my excitement and almost dancing stuntz when my bro called me to see the Preview of one of my best movies and i was like holla!!!!…goodness, this had berra be good and shouldnt taint the legacy of the first one. way back in school that time, i gave it to my friends and they loved the movie. im yet to see Part 2 though and with this review of yours, i have no doubt it was cool. you wont even believe they’re already talking about a sequel..lool.
    i guess it was that good.
    this is my first time here so pls forgive my rant. i have a friend who does movie reviews too and so i was curious when i saw yours.
    nice and neat!!
    and as for that your V for Vendetta quotes..i feel you. my friend also had the quotes too on his blog
    but as for the Liam Neeson’s movie quote on taken, i don’t know what can beat that.

Leave a Reply

