Retro Review: Iron Man (2008)

Growing up was a wonderful experience for me and many people born in my time. We got to read a lot of comics and stories; we watched so many cartoons to our hearts content. In light of these memories, I decided to write about a cartoon and comic book I read back in the days that has now become a major motion picture. I present, IRON MAN.

Iron Man was released back in May, 2008. With Marvel genius Stan Lee in the background responsible for characters alongside Don Heck, Larry Lieber & Jack Kirby with Mark Fergus, Hawk Ostby, Art Marcum & Matt Holloway responsible for screenplay, the movie was directed by Jon Favreau. The cast consists of Robert Downey Jr. as Tony Stark/Iron Man, Terrence Howard as Rhodey, Jeff Bridges as Obadiah Stane, Gwyneth Paltrow as Pepper Potts, Leslie Bibb as Christine Everheart, Shaun Toub as Yinsen,  Faran Tahir as Raza, Clark Gregg as Agent Coulson and Paul Bettany as Jarvis (voice).

The plot is about Tony Stark, CEO of Stark Industries, whose company makes weapons of war. He flies to Afghanistan to give a demonstration of a new missile code-named, JERICHO, after which when leaving he’s kidnapped by insurgents. Held captive for 3 months, Stark sees his own weapons which he developed being used to kill and has been asked by the insurgents to build the Jericho Missile. In captivity he meets, Yisen a scientist who operates on him placing an arc reactor in his heart to prevent the shrapnel that got into his heart when he was kidnapped from killing him. Stark builds a suit of armor and escapes though Yisen dies. He gets back to the states and intends to close the weapons division of his company. Stark tries to find out who set him up and who’s been supplying his weapons to the insurgent while he builds another suit of armor, from which the Iron Man would be born from.

Iron Man was a wonderful screen adaptation of the comic to the big screen. Robert Downey Jr. plays the role of Tony Stark well above average blending a cocky multibillionaire, playboy & genius who hardly cares about any other person than himself with a transformed man willing to make a difference in the world. The plot, action, effects all fell in line and as a sci-fi / ICT lover; there was a lot for me to love in Iron Man. It’s a great movie and has come a long way with a sequel and co-starring in the Avengers

Rating: 8/10

Coolness Rating: Movie’s a classic and one to be kept for future watching over and over again.

 

Favourite Quotes

Tony Stark: You got a family?
Yinsen: Yes, and I will see them when I leave here. And you, Stark?
Tony Stark: [quietly] No.
Yinsen: So you’re a man who has everything, but nothing.

Tony Stark: Hmmm. Your eyes are red. Tears for your long lost boss?
Virginia ‘Pepper’ Potts: Tears of joy. I hate job hunting.
Tony Stark: Yeah, well, vacation’s over.

Virginia ‘Pepper’ Potts: Tony, you have to go to the hospital. The doctor has to look at you.
Tony Stark: I don’t have to do anything. I’ve been in captivity for three months. There are two things I want to do. One, I want an American cheeseburger, and the other…
Virginia ‘Pepper’ Potts: That’s enough of that.
Tony Stark: It’s not what you think. I want you to call for a press conference now.
Virginia ‘Pepper’ Potts: Call for a press conference? What on earth for?
Tony Stark: Hogan, drive. Cheeseburger first.

Agent Phil Coulson: I’m Agent Phil Coulson with the Strategic Homeland Intervention, Enforcement and Logistics Division.
Virginia ‘Pepper’ Potts: That’s quite a mouthful.
Agent Phil Coulson: I know. We’re working on it.

Jarvis: [while Tony is wearing the Mark II Armor] Test complete. Preparing to power down and begin diagnostics…
Tony Stark: Uh, yeah, tell you what. Do a weather and ATC check, start listening in on ground control.
Jarvis: Sir, there are still terabytes of calculations required before an actual flight is…
Tony Stark: Jarvis… sometimes you gotta run before you can walk.

Virginia ‘Pepper’ Potts: Tony, you know that I would help you with anything, but I cannot help you if you’re going to start all this again.
Tony Stark: There is nothing except this. There’s no art opening, no charity, nothing to sign. There’s the next mission, and nothing else.
Virginia ‘Pepper’ Potts: Is that so? Well, then I quit.
Tony Stark: You stood by my side all these years while I reaped the benefits of destruction. Now that I’m trying to protect the people I’ve put in harm’s way, you’re going to walk out?
Virginia ‘Pepper’ Potts: You’re going to kill yourself, Tony. I’m not going to be a part of it.
Tony Stark: I shouldn’t be alive… unless it was for a reason. I’m not crazy, Pepper. I just finally know what I have to do. And I know in my heart that it’s right.

Virginia ‘Pepper’ Potts: Agent Coulson, I just wanted to say thank you very much for all of your help.
Agent Phil Coulson: That’s what we do. You’ll be hearing from us.
Virginia ‘Pepper’ Potts: From the Strategic Homeland…
Agent Phil Coulson: [interrupting] Just call us SHIELD.

Tony Stark: They say that the best weapon is the one you never have to fire. I respectfully disagree. I prefer the weapon you only have to fire once. That’s how Dad did it, that’s how America does it, and it’s worked out pretty well so far. I present to you the newest in Stark Industries’ Freedom line. Find an excuse to let one of these off the chain, and I personally guarantee, the bad guys won’t even wanna come out of their caves. Ladies and gentlemen, for your consideration… the Jericho. 

Yinsen: That doesn’t look like the Jericho missile.
Tony Stark: That’s because it is a miniaturized arc reactor. I’ve got a big one powering my factory at home.
Yinsen: What will it generate?
Tony Stark: If my math is right – and it always is – three gigajoules per second.
Yinsen: [amazed] That could run your heart for fifty lifetimes!
Tony Stark: Yeah… or something big for fifteen minutes.

Christine Everheart: Mr. Stark! Christine Everheart, Vanity Fair magazine. Can I ask you a couple of questions?
Hogan: [whispers to Stark] She’s cute.
Tony Stark: [whispers to Hogan] She’s alright.
[turns around]
Tony Stark: Hi!
Christine Everheart: Hi.
Tony Stark: Yeah. Okay, go.
Christine Everheart: You’ve been called the Da Vinci of our time. What do you say to that?
Tony Stark: Absolutely ridiculous. I don’t paint.
Christine Everheart: And what do you say to your other nickname, the Merchant of Death?
Tony Stark: That’s not bad. Let me guess… Berkeley?
Christine Everheart: Brown, actually.
Tony Stark: Well, Ms. Brown. It’s an imperfect world, but it’s the only one we got. I guarantee you the day weapons are no longer needed to keep the peace, I’ll start making bricks and beams for baby hospitals.
Christine Everheart: Rehearse that much?
Tony Stark: Every night in front of the mirror before bedtime.
Christine Everheart: I can see that.
Tony Stark: I’d like to show you firsthand.
Christine Everheart: [exasperated] All I’m looking for is a straight answer.
Tony Stark: [removing his shades] OK, here’s a straight answer. My old man had a philosophy: peace means having a bigger stick than the other guy.
Christine Everheart: That’s a great line, coming from a guy selling the sticks.
Tony Stark: My father helped defeat Nazis. He worked on the Manhattan Project. A lot of people, including your professors at Brown, would call that being a hero.
Christine Everheart: And a lot of people would also call that war-profiteering.
Tony Stark: Tell me, do you plan to report on the millions we’ve saved by advancing medical technology or kept from starvation with our intelli-crops? All those breakthroughs, military funding, honey.
Christine Everheart: Have you ever lost an hour of sleep in your life?
Tony Stark: I’m be prepared to lose a few with you.

That’s a wrap folks. O and happy new month to you all.

I’d be honoured if you vote for Movie Reviews, in the Best Topical Blog Category of the Nigerian Blog Awards. Voting is currently ongoing till November 11, 2012. Thanks

You can follow Dmoviereview on Twitter. We’ll follow back

You can like our Dmoviereview page on Facebook.

You can also click the follow button to receive email notifications of new posts.

Without Wax,

V.

2 thoughts on “Retro Review: Iron Man (2008)

Leave a Reply

