Who is better? Dumbledore vs. Gandalf

Good day all. This post is brought to you with the consent of the Sodas and Popcorn team, another great movie reviewing website. I had the pleasure of being a guest on the blog to discuss who is better between Dumbledore and Gandalf in their V.S. series against M.Y. It’s a post worth sharing and would very much love to hear your opinions as to who is better with your comments. I rep #TeamDumbledore

**********************************************************************************************************

Who is the better wizard?
Who is the better wizard?

M.Y: Good day guys and welcome to this episode of the V.S series. Today we have a battle of the world’s greatest wizards. Going to battle with me today is a guest respected in the Nigerian movie reviewing webspace. And he is none other than Daviruz, owner of dmoviereview.wordpress.com

Daviruz: Yes ooo. Thanks M.Y for the accolades. Am humbled.

M.Y: So without wasting more time, Let’s get right to it. 2 wizards from two different worlds regarded as the most powerful in their realms.

Daviruz: We are talking about Gandalf the grey later known as Gandalf the white and Professor Albus Percival Wulfric Brian Dumbledore.

M.Y: As one of the biggest and most faithful fans of the Lord of the Rings franchise, I will be committing a terrible crime if I don’t prove to you all that Gandalf is way better  and eventually a greater wizard than Dumbledore and therefore the greatest wizard there ever is and ever will be.

Daviruz: Nna calm down. Merlin is the greatest and my man is in the Order of Merlin. Infact some circles believe him to be one of those who could surpass Merlin.

M.Y: Merlin should go and sit somewhere jare. A little background info about my man, so you guys know who we are talking about here.

Gandalf also known as Olórin is an Istari(known to men as a wizard). Istari were  Maiar(spirits in the form of men)who came to middle earth to protect from the brewing evil of the dark Lord Sauron. They possessed great physical and mental power…

Daviruz: Oh please! Who is here to talk about physical power. We are talking about wizards here. Spells, magic, potions…Let me give a brief rundown of what a true wizard’s bio should be like.

Professor Albus Percival Wulfric Brian Dumbledore, Order of Merlin, First Class, Grand Sorc., D. Wiz., X.J.(sorc.), S. of Mag.Q was the Transfiguration Professor, and later Headmaster of Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. Professor Dumbledore also served as Supreme Mugwump of the International Confederation of Wizards and Chief Warlock of the Wizengamot. He was a half-blood wizard, the son of Percival and Kendra Dumbledore. He is the only Headmaster that was laid to rest at Hogwarts. Albus Dumbledore’s portrait still remains at Hogwarts.

M.Y: *Smiles* There is no difference between what I heard and a bio-chemist’s application as a factory manager. Well, seems my friend is in a hurry to has his ass whooped. Okay then, let’s go.

Daviruz: Do I smell a declaration of war? Let’s go there.

***

Skills

***

Daviruz: Dumbledore is a chairman here please.

M.Y: Spare me the story you mere mortal earthling.

Daviruz: For starters, he can speak mermish, Gobbledegook (Goblin language) and even parseltongue

M.Y: And Gandalf can speak Elvish and The dark language of mordor. A tongue so feared that it even dare not be spoken in the Realm of the elves. But then, its Gandalf, mere tongues don’t define him.

Daviruz: Dumbledore doesn’t need to scream “you shall not pass” before he gets shit done. He casts wordless spells. He can teleport and read minds.

M.Y: Well said my friend, but picture this; You come to battle with a tiny little cane called an elder’s wand, I come in with the Staff of Power and a Glamdring(a magical sword) and you think you stand a chance against me? I am a demigod who has lived since the beginning of time. Please tell me what your accomplishments are.

Daviruz: I fought off 2 of the most dangerous wizards of my time, one without the elder’s wand and the other cowers before me.  Let’s not forget I do not need a wand. What becomes of you when I cast you under the Petrificulus Totalus spell.

M.Y: Errr sorry but whats that please? Too busy learning spells to save the world and not some school.

Daviruz: It’s a full body binding spell.

M.Y: Lmao. Saruman could not defeat me with all his powers and a body binding spell would work on me? Lets even say you do go ahead and cast your precious spell which its use was no secret to a little girl by the way. what’s my shield of Istari for?

Daviruz: And I shall simply aparate behind you without making a single sound and end your career without a single sound.

M.Y: I am immortal. I died once and was reborn stronger. You kill me, I will only be reborn stronger than before. The only way this will end well for you is if you surrender. Else I will keep coming back until I am strong enough to smash The Hulk’s skull open. By the way, remind you how many times you have lived again?

***

Intelligence

***

Daviruz: I am pretty sure the term book worm was originally coined for Dumbledore’s personality. I mean, during his N.E.W.T exams, he did things with the wand that left the examiner floored. Dumbledore found & led the Order of Phoneix during the 2 occasions voldermort reared his ugly head. It was thanks to Dumbledore’s plan & ability to see many steps into the future that enabled Harry to defeat voldermort… A move that am certain many detectives including Sherlock would be jealous of.  He was well versed in Potions, knew the right words to say & motivate those who believed in him… Even programmed that phoneix of his to respond & help anyone who believed in him… He’s knowledge of alchemy is worth noting as he assisted Nicolas Flammel with the sorcerer’s stone

M.Y: Gandalf who’s real name is Olorin. Had existed from the beginning of time. He was regarded as the wisest of the 5 maiars who are the most powerful wizards to have ever lived. He was sent to middle earth to watch over the people of the realm because of the looming evil sauron was planning. He roamed middle earth for 2000 years gathering and learning about men as a mortal being and was undetected by even the elves until he revealed himself. No one ever questioned his wisdom throughout the books or movies. This is noticed in the beginning of the lord of the rings movie where he detects bilbo’s plan and his cheap tricks, his knowledge helped them find their way through the mines of moria and his wisdom led him to choosing frodo as the ring bearer as well as bilbo as their buglar in The Hobbit. He strategically fought and won countless battles in the books and the movies.

Daviruz: And he does not know elvish & wasted the dwarves time… Same in LOTR 1

M.Y: Oh please. You obviously didn’t watch the movie well. He spent 2000 freaking years with the elves
He spoke elvish continuously searching for different elvish words to open the doors of moria

Daviruz: *Yawns*…Cool Story

***

Combat

***

M.Y: Hahaha. I promise you my friend, I will go easy on you with this one. You are no match for Gandalf when it comes to fights. He is that old and still kicks ass that well. He has saved kingdoms and fought demons. Mostly without spells, because his powers were placed under restriction. He was here on earth to bring peace and not wage wars and use his full powers. He has  battled Undeads, orcs, goblins, a dragon, trolls, and a demon from the pits of hell which was one of those creatures that created the world. I am talking about the Balrog. He fought battles that lasted days unending, what has your man done? Gandalf’s lightning strike can end the careers of hordes of enemies at once, his blinding light was compared to a magnified sunbeam, his shield of Istari withstood the force of the balrog’s flaming sword, his destructive blast shakes the earth and breaks the ground open. You don’t want to mess with Gandalf the Grey not even Gandalf the White now. He will crush you.

Boo Yaa!! *Drops Staff and Sword and walks away in Slow Mo*

Daviruz: *Shows rare emotion of anger….then begins*

First, the disillusionment charm, now you see me, now you don’t. Then I cast the powerful fire spell on you, the worst of its kind.; I conjure Gubraithian Fire viz-a-viz Magical Everlasting fire then the Legilmens(delving into the mind of a victim) *cheeky smile*. You see, Gandalf’s mind is weak for a wizard. He is in no place to be second to me. Call any spell you want, I can conjure. I reduced my quest for power because I don’t want to hurt those around me like you. So demigod or not, I will whoop you demigod behind into the fiery pits of Modor.

Zubby and Terdoh walk in looking shocked.
Zubby: Guys! Come on!  look what you did to the whole set. Well you both are paying sha, you know we borrowed all this.
Terdoh: I am really disappointed in you both. Grown black men running round in rags. Wizard wanna bes
Zubby: So dear readers, who do you think won. Gandalf or Dumbledore. You decide.
***********************************************************************************************************
So there you have it folks. Who do you think is better?
You can follow M.Y on twitter via his handle
You can check Sodas and Popcorn out and follow them on twitter @sodas_popcorn

You can follow Dmoviereview on Twitter. We’ll follow back

You can like our Dmoviereview page on Facebook.

You can also click the follow button to receive email notifications of new posts.

Without Wax,

V.

5 thoughts on “Who is better? Dumbledore vs. Gandalf

  1. I am a big Lord of the Rings Fan, and Harry Potter Fan, in fact I decided to watch all 8 movies of Harry Potter last week, 1 every day, so far on my 6th. That said, right now I’m focusing on Dumbledore more because of the story, but still… I think Gandalf would win in a great battle. But I’m not sure, neither are best, they are both great wizard’s, think about it. I think they would rather both sit down and talk over a cup of tea and a pipe 🙂

Leave a Reply

