[Movie Review]: STAR TREK: INTO THE DARKNESS

Star Trek… Do people now trek in space? Dumb question i know, but i just have to ask wondering why the creators called it Star Trek. It’s cool though ūüėÄ . It’s a review of Star Trek: Into The Darkness

Star-Trek-Into-Darkness

ST: Into the Darkness is directed by none other than the Sci-Fi maestro, J.J. Abrams, writing credits are shared between¬†Roberto Orci,¬†Alex Kurtzman,¬†Damon Lindelof¬†&¬†Gene Roddenberry¬†(television series “Star Trek”) ¬†and a cast consisting of¬†Chris Pine¬†as Kirk,¬†Zachary Quinto¬†as Spock,¬†Zoe Saldana¬†as¬†Uhura,¬†Karl Urban¬†as Bones,¬†Simon Pegg¬†as Scotty,¬†John Cho¬†as Sulu,¬†Benedict Cumberbatch¬†as Khan,¬†Anton Yelchin¬†as Chekov,¬†Bruce Greenwood¬†as Pike,¬†Peter Weller¬†as Marcus, and¬†Alice Eve¬†as Carol.

ST: Into the Darkness centers around the eccentric Captain Kirk of the Enterprise who discovers an enemy of terror within their organization and is sent on a manhunt to a war zone world to capture a one man weapon of mass destruction.

I have never been a fan of the star trek series, but after seeing this particular movie i might just be tempted to try seeing it. Kudos must be given to J.J. Abrams for pulling this off with the new Star Wars project to be ¬†also directed by him. The plot deserves an A rating as it was enough to make my mind work a little above average. For the acting, Benedict Cumberbatch is a boss. He makes bad look way too good and i for see a long and wonderful career for him as he was already mind blowing in the BBC TV series Sherlock. Chris Pine and Zachary Quinto deserve to be mentioned also as the interpreted their roles very well and i was impressed. The CGI was cool, so where the action scenes. It’s no wonder the movie has already made profit on it’s estimated budget.

 

Rating: 8/10

Cinema Worthiness: Movie was awesome. Worth seeing if it’s still showing.

 

Favourite Quotes

John Harrison: You think you world is safe? It is an illusion. A comforting lie told to protect you. Enjoy these final moments of peace. For I have returned to have my vengeance. So, shall we begin?

Khan: Mr. Spock. The mind of the Enterprise. The fearless genius who ensures a calm force of intelligence guides their every mission. But look deeper and you will see an outsider who does not belong, a man of two worlds. This tears him apart, the constant battle between what he thinks and what he feels. What does he do? Does he follow his head, embracing logic and the path of reason? Or does he follow his heart, knowing the emotions he cannot control may destroy him? I will help him decide…

[to Kirk]
Christopher Pike: Do you know what a pain you are? You think the rules don’t apply to you. There’s greatness in you, but there’s not an ounce of humility. You think that you can’t make mistakes, but there’s going to come a moment when you realize you’re wrong about that, and you’re going to get yourself and everyone under your command killed.

James T. Kirk: Why would a Starfleet admiral ask a three-hundred-year-old frozen man for help?
Khan: Because I am better.
James T. Kirk: At what?
Khan: Everything. Alexander Marcus needed to respond to an uncivilized threat in a civilized time, and for that, he needed a warrior’s mind – my mind – to design weapons and warships.
Spock: You are suggesting the Admiral violated every regulation he vowed to uphold, simply because he wanted to exploit your intellect…
Khan: He wanted to exploit my savagery! Intellect alone is useless in a fight, Mr. Spock. You, you can’t even break a rule – how can you be expected to break bone? Marcus used me to design weapons. I helped him realize his vision of a militarized Starfleet. He sent you to use those weapons, to fire my torpedoes on an unsuspecting planet, and then he purposely crippled your ship in enemy space, leading to one inevitable outcome: the Klingons would come searching for whoever was responsible, and you would have no chance of escape. Marcus would finally have the war he talked about, the war he always wanted.

Khan: Your are a pawn, Kirk. You can’t even guarantee the safety of your own crew. Now, shall we begin?

Spock: [stuck in a volcano] We must maintain the Prime Directive…
James T. Kirk: Nobody knows the rules better than you, Spock, but sometimes exceptions have to be made!

Khan: I’m going to make this very simple for you.
Spock: Captain!
Khan: Your crew for my crew.
Spock: You betrayed us.
Khan: Oh, you are smart, Mr Spock.
James T. Kirk: Spock, don’t…
[Khan knocks him down]
Khan: Mr Spock, give me my crew.
Spock: What will you do when you get them?
Khan: Continue the work we were doing before we were banished.
Spock: Which as I understand it involves the mass-genocide of any being you find to be less than superior.
Khan: Shall I destroy you, Mr Spock? Or will you give me what I want?
Spock: We have no transporter capabilities.
Khan: Fortunately mine are perfectly functioning. Drop your shields.
Spock: If I do so I have no guarantee that you will not destroy the Enterprise.
Khan: Well, let’s play this out logically then, Mr Spock. Firstly, I will kill your captain to demonstrate my resolve, then if yours holds I will have no choice but to kill you and your entire crew.
Spock: If you destroy our ship, you will also destroy your own people.
Khan: Your crew requires oxygen to survive, mine does not. I will target your life support systems located behind the aft nacelle. And after every single person aboard your ship suffocates, I will walk over your cold corpses to recover my people. Now, shall we begin?
Spock: …Lower shields.
Khan: A wise choice, Mr Spock. I see all 72 torpedoes are still in their tubes. If they’re not mine, Commander, I will know it.
Spock: Vulcans do not lie. The torpedoes are yours.
Khan: Thank you, Mr Spock.
Spock: I have fulfilled your terms. Now fulfill mine.
Khan: Well Kirk, it seems apt to return you to your crew. After all, no ship should go down without her captain.

James T. Kirk: The enemy of my enemy is my friend.
Spock: An Arabic proverb attributed to a prince who was betrayed and decapitated by his own subjects.
James T. Kirk: Well, its still a hell of a quote.

Sulu: Attention: John Harrison. This is Captain Hikaru Sulu of the USS Enterprise. A shuttle of highly trained officers is on its way to your location. If you do not surrender to them immediately, I will unleash the entire payload of advanced long-range torpedoes currently locked on to your location. You have two minutes to confirm your compliance. Refusal to do so will result in your obliteration. And If you test me, you will fail.
Bones: Mr. Sulu, remind me never to piss you off.

Spock: You mistake my choice not to feel as a reflection of my not caring, while I assure you the truth is precisely the opposite.

 

Enjoy both the post and movie from wherever you are folks.

Without Wax,

V.

You can follow Dmoviereview on Twitter. We’ll follow back.

You can like our page on Facebook.

You can click on the follow button to receive notifications of new posts in your email.

 

Leave a Reply

