[Movie Review] Now You See Me

Now-you-see-me

2013 in retrospect has been a below average year in movies as there were very few movies that actually caught my attention or left me with a “WOW” look on my face. But the movie up for review left me watering in anticipation when i saw the trailer earlier in the year (trailer below), ladies and gents, it’s a NOW YOU SEE ME review.

Now You See Me is directed by Louis Leterrier, screenplay by Ed SolomonBoaz Yakin & Edward Ricourt and has a cast consisting of Jesse Eisenberg as J. Daniel Atlas, Mark Ruffalo as Dylan Rhodes, Woody Harrelson as Merritt McKinney, Isla Fisher as Henley Reeves, Dave Franco as Jack Wilder, Mélanie Laurent as Alma Dray, Morgan Freeman as Thaddeus Bradley, Michael Caine as Arthur Tressler, Michael Kelly as Agent Fuller and Common as Evans.

Now You See Me is about Four magicians who each answer a mysterious summons to an obscure address with secrets inside. A year later, they are the Four Horseman, big time stage illusionists who climax their sold out Las Vegas show with a bank apparently robbed for real. This puts agents Dylan Rhodes of the FBI and Alma Vargas of Interpol on the case to find out how they did it. However, this mystery proves difficult to solve even with the insights of the professional illusion exposer, Thaddeus Bradley. What follows is a bizarre investigation where nothing is what it seems with illusions, dark secrets and hidden agendas galore as all involved are reminded of a great truth in this puzzle: the closer you look, the less you see. Written by Kenneth Chisholm (kchishol@rogers.com) via IMDB.

Take my advice and do it...
Take my advice and do it…

Now You See Me is synonymous with awesome because that is what the movie is. The stand out performers are Jesse Eissenberg, Mark Ruffalo, Morgan Freeman & Woody Harrelson. They played their roles so well and the plot was beautiful. This is one movie that i must say that i enjoyed so much, that i was not interested in looking for faults or ways to criticize it. Magicians robbing a bank? Does not get better than that folks. Kudos to the director for ensuring the story and scenes where not prolonged more than necessary.

 

Rating: 8.5/10

Cinema Worthiness: Should be out of the cinemas but i highly recommend grabbing the Blu-Ray copy of this movie.

 

Quotes

Merritt McKinney: If by “has-been” you’re referring to me, I just wanna say I’m flattered, because I always considered myself a never-was.

J. Daniel Atlas: What is magic? Focused deception. But deception meant to entertain.

Merritt McKinney: Do me a favor. Visualize your most adventurous sexual experience.
Henley Reeves: Stay out of my head, you perv!
Merritt McKinney: Well, no, if I stay out of your head, I’m never gonna get into your pants.

Thaddeus Bradley: How do you like your Horsemen, fricasseed or fried?
Arthur Tressler: Shredded!
Thaddeus Bradley: I’ll tell the chef.

Dylan Rhodes: I can maintain my resolve much longer than you can maintain that phony arrogance. And the instant that you even show the slightest crack in that smug facade, I’ll be there. I’ll be all over you like…
J. Daniel Atlas: Like white on rice? Sorry, that’s unfair. Let me warn you. I want you to follow, because no matter what you think you might know, we will always be one step, three steps- seven steps ahead of you, and just when you think you’re catching up, that’s when we’ll be right behind you. And at no time will you be anywhere other than exactly where I want you to be. So come close, get all over me because the closer you think you are, the less you’ll actually see.

Merritt McKinney: I’m just trying to create the space for wisdom.
J. Daniel Atlas: Okay, so you’re like Buddha, if he wasn’t so enlightened.
Merritt McKinney: And you’re like Jesus, if he was arrogant and all of his miracles were fake.

J. Daniel Atlas: First rule of magic: always be the smartest person in the room.

Merritt McKinney: The first time I saw you, I thought you were… a dick.
Henley Reeves: And?
Merritt McKinney: That’s it.
J. Daniel Atlas: I’m touched.
Merritt McKinney: Yeah, just from the bottom of my heart.
J. Daniel Atlas: Well, I didn’t say where I was touched.

J. Daniel Atlas: The more you look, the less you see.

 

Let me know what you think via your comments as the are highly appreciated.

 

Without Wax,

V.

You can follow Dmoviereview on Twitter. We’ll follow back.

You can like our page on Facebook.

You can click on the follow button to receive notifications of new posts in your email.

 

7 thoughts on “[Movie Review] Now You See Me

      1. Ruffalo, as usual, takes a generic character, and gives him more dimensions that make him a sympathetic character. Not much, but just enough to make his character work.

      2. He was okay, a little too snarky for my taste though. Then again, that’s how every performance of his may be since he owned it so well in Social Network.

Leave a Reply

