[Movie Review] The Amazing Spider-man 2

I saw the trailers, the leaks and the news flash here and there, the reviews and now I have finally seen it. I give to you The Amazing  Spiderman 2 review. #TAS2

Spidey vs Electro
Spidey vs Electro

THE BRAINS: Directed by Marc Webb, written by Alex Kurtzman, Roberto Orci and Jeff Pinker, The Amazing Spiderman 2 stars Andrew Garfield as Peter Parker/Spider-man, Emma Stone as Gwen Stacey, Jamie Foxx as Electro/Max Dillon, Dane DeHaan as Harry Osborne/Green Goblin, Sally Field as Aunt May, Colm Feore as Donald Meken & Paul Giamatti as Aleksei Sytsevich.

THE STORY: TAS2 picks up from where the first movie left off with Peter Parker now being Spiderman who is facing so many issues ranging from being himself & Spiderman, trying to maintain his relationship with Gwen while at the same time keeping his word to her late father about staying away from her & being there for his Aunt May. Things take a different turn when a new villain (Electro) comes into town and threatens to take down Spiderman and the whole city alongside with him. Check the trailer out below.

ANALYSIS: Firstly I must state that TAS2 is way better than its predecessor and I must commend the director and the writers (especially the writers as the writers for TAS 1 are different from the writers for TAS2) for the major improvement. Andrew Garfield played his role way better than the previous though I believe he could do a lot more with the role. The same goes for Emma Stone though she did just fine and I was impressed with her performance. But the stand out performance has to go to Jamie Foxx. Really enjoyed the way he portrayed his role as Max Dillon/Electro. The main plot was great while the sub plots where above average. The visuals in the movie was great, no shaky cameras and the angles were well shot. As for the action scenes, well I got to say I love this Spiderman more. He’s got style and certain finesse that endears you to him. All in all, TAS2 is a major step up from its prequel. As for that sub plot thrown in towards the end (no spoilers will be revealed), I found it cool as I heard people complaining about it.

FINAL WORD: TAS2 is a big step up from its predecessor and must commend it for balancing all the necessary wheels needed to make it run though I would have loved a little more action scenes and plot.

RATING: 8.5/10

Favourite Movie Quotes

Aunt May: What happened to your face? It’s filthy!
Peter Parker: It is?
Aunt May: Yes!
Peter Parker: Oh, yeah, yeah. I was cleaning the chimney.
Aunt May: We have no chimney.
Peter Parker: Whaaat?

Peter Parker: I’m so sorry I’m late, I had a traffic thing.
Gwen Stacy: Did your “traffic jam” have anything to do with, I don’t know, being shot at by machine guns?
Peter Parker: Yeah, I was implying that.

Aunt May: Last time you did it, you turned everything blue and red!
Peter Parker: I was washing…
[stammers]
Peter Parker: the American flag! My flag!
Aunt May: No one washes the flag!
Peter Parker: Not anymore.
Aunt May: No one washes the flag!
Peter Parker: Alright, laundry sheriff.

Peter Parker: Everyday I wake up knowing that no matter how many lives I protect, no matter how many people call me a hero, someone even more powerful could change everything.

Electro: Soon, everyone in the city is going to know how it feels to live in my world. A world without power. A world without mercy. A world without Spider-Man! And everyone would be able to see me for who I’m truly am.
Dr. Ashley Kafka: And who are you?
Electro: Don’t you know? I’m Electro.

Spider-Man: On behalf of the fine people of New York and real rhinos everywhere, I ask you to put your mechanized paws in the air!
Rhino: Never! I crush you, I kill you! I destroy you!

Until next time, have fun.

Without Wax,
V.

You can follow Dmoviereview on Twitter. We’ll follow back.

You can like our page on Facebook.

You can click on the Follow button to receive notifications of new posts in your email.

4 thoughts on “[Movie Review] The Amazing Spider-man 2

  1. Great review. I loved the film and thought the new lighter more comic book feel of the film made Spider-man finally feel like Spider-man.

    Very much looking forward to the next one, BRING ON SINISTER SIX! 😀

  2. Very good blog! Do you have any recommendations for aspiring writers?
    I’m hoping to start my own site soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you propose starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many options out there that I’m completely overwhelmed ..
    Any recommendations? Cheers!

    1. Thanks for the comment Duane.

      If you can afford the paid version then please by all means go for it, if not go with the free plan till you can afford it. Be consistent with your posts, write about what you passionate about and you are already on your way there

Leave a Reply

